Katharine Hepburn Is Better Than You

source: Me!

Ahhh, the summer. There’s nothing better than kicking back, planning vacations and seeing them come to fruition.

This past summer I was fortunate enough to take a trip to D.C and tour through the National Mall. Between feasting on artisan burgers and sipping on bubble tea, I squeezed a trip to the Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery.

source: https://www.si.edu

Initially I was a bit hesitant to visit this particular museum; seeing as though I’m a bit of a history nerd I wanted to see actual artifacts not necessarily art work.

I was hilariously wrong.

When I walked inside I was taken back at how many brilliant paintings and sculptures I saw. From Presidential portraits to Barbie figurines, the National Portrait Gallery is arguably the most underrated museum there is in the National Mall.

The thing that shocked me the most during my visit was Katharine Hepburn‘s Oscar collection.

After my squealing calmed down after 3 minutes I was able to bask in the history of these four statues.

On Golden Pond, The Lion in Winter, Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner and Morning Glory are all represented here through Katharine‘s four Academy Awards.

We all know that Katharine Hepburn was one of a kind and it was pretty moving to see her awards in the flesh.

All four of the films that she won her Oscars for are absolutely brilliant, with Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner be a favorite of mine.

If you get a chance to visit America’s Nation’s capital I highly recommend stopping by the National Portrait Gallery, you never know what other classic Hollywood memorabilia you’ll find.

To read more entries into this blogathon, click: here.

5 thoughts on “Katharine Hepburn Is Better Than You

  1. The only film of Katharine Hepburn’s which I like, is: ‘Summertime’. She was perfectly suited to the part of a repressed spinster. The film is altogether superb. Otherwise, she never loses herself in the character: rather, it is always Katharine Hepburn playing a part. By way of obiter dictum, I do not like the other Hepburn either: she was no actress, and her gamine charm wore thin.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. First of all, I love your title — so true! Secondly, I’m so jealous you got to see her awards! My university has all of John Ford’s Oscars, but I haven’t seen them in person yet.

    Thanks for contributing to our blogathon!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment